Surfers Paradise, Brisbane and Noosa - Reisverslag uit Brisbane, Australië van Timo Pelt - WaarBenJij.nu Surfers Paradise, Brisbane and Noosa - Reisverslag uit Brisbane, Australië van Timo Pelt - WaarBenJij.nu

Surfers Paradise, Brisbane and Noosa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timo

11 November 2012 | Australië, Brisbane

The last week I stayed in surfers, Brisbane and Noosa. It was a nice week where I separated from my Austrian girls and met my next travel companion named Brendan Bos (a 'fake' Dutch guy that never lived in holland but has Dutch parents and lives in Germany (he would probably punch me if he reads this because he really wants to be Dutch ;-))).

Surfers paradise actually was not nice at all. It is just a place where tourism caused giant high rise hotels to pop up as weed. There is absolutely no atmosphere here at all. The only cool thing is that I saw a practice run of some red arrow planes doing loops and barrel rolls in formation, which was interesting.
Another good thing is that I made some very good pancakes that were jawdropping and everybody was quite jealous, which I obviously enjoyed.

Luckily I departed to Brisbane and even though everybody said it was just a city I liked the atmosphere. It is not a big town but it has some lovely parks and things to see. It was at the bus to Brisbane where I met Brendan and Helen and the first night we all hung out in a park.
The Austrian girls and I did not like the hostel at all and we wanted to spend as little time there as possible. The night was fresh and we had some great fun in at a children's playground.
The next day we also went to "Burger Urge" (a must to go to when in Brisbane). According to the Lonely Planet it is the best burger place in Brisbane and according to me the best burger place I ever experienced.
The next day however Clara, Lea and I said our goodbyes because we had to split up. They are going to Frasier Island (the biggest sand island in the world) and I am planning to go to Darwin (only tropical city in Australia). However we will meet up in New Zealand in a month or two, which I am looking forward to. But for now I have to deal with my new travel companion Brendan.
We met a couple of times afterwards as well and we went to Noosa together. Unfortunately the Austrians had different plans and we had to split up, however I will meet up with them in New Zealand.

Noosa is another small town which was not that interesting. It is a place all filthy rich go to and people ready to party which eventually did not happen.
We did see the Noosa national park though, which was beautiful and we saw some great eagles, the white-bellied sea eagle in fact. They flew past so close and at times they were not further away then 15-20 m.
The next day Brendan and I left to Brisbane again to fly to Darwin, however we did not book our hostel in advance which was not that smart. Apparently Brisbane is the fastest growing city with a shortage of accommodation which we noticed after calling 15-20 hostels which were all full.
We decided to go to a park to sleep but luckily I walked past my old hostel and ask again. This time we were very lucky because 2 people did not show up leaving 2 beds available for us. I must say this really was a lifesaver because it rained all night, thus a park wouldn't be very pleasant.

  • 11 November 2012 - 13:25

    Vincent:

    Dat doet me denken aan die keer in Maastricht toen ik 14 was en zonder slaapplaats besloot om ergens in een bushokje te overnachten. Ik werd door de politie opgepikt. Jij hebt het beter gedaan!
    Heb je nog foto's van die arenden gemaakt?

    kus, papa

  • 12 November 2012 - 21:35

    Eoin McEvoy In London:

    Hiiii TIMO !
    Your Dad sent me the link to see what you are doing Down Under! I have read all four texts and looked at all the photos and I must say, as a person who has never been to Auz, they really gave me an insight into what the country is really like (not the cliches, except for the adorable koala's of course). Anyway it looks like you are on a fantastic adventure Man! Tropical waterfalls and all those pretty girls... Australia is so very different from The Netherlands, obviousy, which is what you want to experience, of course - may you enjoy every day and not have to ever spend a single night in a park !
    Your father and i had a good day together on Texel just after you left and I'll be seeing him again in March for a Bach Passion (yes, another one!).
    Take care of yourself, watch out for the snakes and pick a quality local beer (chilled and in a cold glass) to try one evening...
    Best wishes,
    Eoin.
    PS - congratulations on your Degree!!

  • 14 November 2012 - 08:34

    Stefan:

    Hoi Timo!

    Ik ben nu up-to-date met je reisverslag! Man, wat een reis zeg! Het valt trouwens wel op dat het grootste deel van je reisgenoten van het andere geslacht is (alweer XD)
    Heb je de eclips nog gezien? Hij schijnt in noordoost Australië erg goed te zien geweest te zijn. Heb je daar nog wat van meegekregen?

    Groetjes,

    Stefan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timo

My name is Timo and I am 22 years old. I just finished my bachelors degree and thought I would start travelling for a while. This blog helps me to keep track of the most memorable things I experience during my travels. And to make sure that I will take all these memories back home.

Actief sinds 06 Okt. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 362
Totaal aantal bezoekers 48162

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Oktober 2012 - 06 April 2013

Australia and New Zealand

Landen bezocht: