Abel tasman, blackball, Wanaka and Milford sound - Reisverslag uit Oban, Nieuw Zeeland van Timo Pelt - WaarBenJij.nu Abel tasman, blackball, Wanaka and Milford sound - Reisverslag uit Oban, Nieuw Zeeland van Timo Pelt - WaarBenJij.nu

Abel tasman, blackball, Wanaka and Milford sound

Door: Timo van Pelt

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timo

12 Januari 2013 | Nieuw Zeeland, Oban

As to be expected I cannot top my last blog, however I did some nice things during my last week.
It mostly was a week for me to chill out a bit. After being returned to Nelson I continued my trip to Abel Tasman. It was nice and warm and ridiculously sunny, all in all everything I needed to get my energy back from my previous experience. My plan was to do a 4 hour walk, but I returned after 1,5 hours already. The walk, however short it was, was pretty nice. After that I decided to read and watch some movies in a hammock.
After Abel Tasman we drove to the pancake rocks. It's a place where limestone was pushed up to the surface of the earth and then experienced the sea creating rocks that looked like a pile of pancakes. After me craving for some real Dutch pancakes we moved on to blackball, which literally is a ghost town. We stayed at the "formerly the blackball Hilton", which is supposed to be one of the most haunted hotels in New Zealand and in the morning we went to the most haunted house in New Zealand. There actually was a newspaper put on the wall that described that some people actually tested this with special gear and that during one night they had enough sitings to prove this.
We did a short walk to a hill afterwards and had a long drive to mt. Cook as the bridge to Franz Josef was flushed away by the same rain mass that taunted me in Kahurangi. It was an awful long drive through Rohan. It was quite pretty and we had nice views but we didn't stop because we didn't have time. I did recognise the place where the beacons were lit and some other lord of the rings landmarks.
The next day we went directly to Wanaka, a nice little town next to a big lake. We did a nice walk close to Wanaka and had some beautiful views over the lake and supposedly Rohan.
Next up was Queenstown that I only used for my transfer to Milford sound the next day. However because of the rain the road was closed and we couldn't go. Instead we went for a walk in the pouring rain next to a flooded lake that also flooded the walking path. I had some nice company on the walk and had some nice laughs. After the walk we heard that Milford sound would open again tomorrow morning and we could do the Milford cruise. We all were euphoric about that news and the next morning we set out to make it to the cruise. Unfortunately the road was closed again, including the 9 o'clock tour that we booked. We eventually could make it to Milford but not the cruise as I had a ferry to Stewart island to catch. Three people stayed behind and waited for the 11 o'clock cruise. They had a great tour with blue sky as the clouds broke just before them. This made me quite sad for me, but was very excited for them.
On the way back had some very nice views of the mountains which were also quite worth it.
At the moment I arrived on Stewart Island where it rains 265 days a year and drizzles the other 100, so I was not too surprised to see the rain when I woke up this morning. However the island is beautiful and I won't be disappointed when doing the walks I recon.

  • 12 Januari 2013 - 14:57

    Vincent:

    van de regen in de drup zogezegd!
    Wanneer laat je weer eens wat foto's zien. Ik ben toch wel nieuwsgierig naar de omgeving.

    Kus, papa

  • 16 Januari 2013 - 23:31

    Daphne:

    baartemans, houden zo!

  • 17 Januari 2013 - 23:05

    Vincent:

    Prachtige foto's, dankjewel!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timo

My name is Timo and I am 22 years old. I just finished my bachelors degree and thought I would start travelling for a while. This blog helps me to keep track of the most memorable things I experience during my travels. And to make sure that I will take all these memories back home.

Actief sinds 06 Okt. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 416
Totaal aantal bezoekers 48275

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Oktober 2012 - 06 April 2013

Australia and New Zealand

Landen bezocht: