First couple of days in Australia - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Timo Pelt - WaarBenJij.nu First couple of days in Australia - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Timo Pelt - WaarBenJij.nu

First couple of days in Australia

Door: Timo van Pelt

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Timo

16 Oktober 2012 | Australië, Sydney

So after waiting so long, finally the day arrived when I would travel to Australia. After celebrating my dad's birthday in the morning my parents and sisters brought me to Schiphol airport, trying to spent every minute they possebly had left before I would leave.
My transfer from Amsterdam to Sydney would look like this: first a 20 hour flight to Taipei (Taiwan), a 11 hour wait and a 9 hour flight to Sydney.
And after saying goodbye to each other I was on my own for the first time in my life. I hurried to the gate where the airplane was waiting and with a positive and fresh attitude I was ready for the trip to come.

After about 10 hours and 4 movies in the aircraft the pilot suddenly announced that we would be landing soon in Bankok. At that moment I really thought I got in the wrong plane. However it was planned and a lot of people got off to make room for the people that would be flying to Taipei. And after two hours of waiting we're heading to Taipei again. After this initial shock everything went smoothly and on 12:00 local time I arrived in Sydney.

The first thing that I noticed was the tropical look the city had. I thought it would look about the same as Rotterdam or Amsterdam, but there are quite a lot of parks with palm trees and colourful birds here.
When I arrived at my hostel, which is located at Kings Cross (think of 'de Wallen' in Amsterdam however located in Sydney), I thought this isn't what I was expecting. Most people are settled here for over a month and almost everybody is working and partying in the night.
However the people were nice and I was directly asked to play some basketball, which was nice, except for the fact that my feet are covered in blisters now (really not kidding).
After the basketball I stayed at the hostel until we went out. Even though I almost hadn't slept during the flights I had to attend a party to meet more people. We went to 'the village' which was a terrible place, however I met a nice American girl (Raya) which I met before on the city shuttle to my hostel. We talked a bit and had a nice time however then I went to another place on the other side of Sydney with 4 Dutch persons and had a final drink.

Today I walked all around Sydney with a guy named Eric and a girl named Miriam. We saw the harbour bridge, opera house and much more and it took us almost the entire day. And we walked quite some distances, however it was worth it.

  • 16 Oktober 2012 - 14:31

    Vincent:

    Leuk verhaal Timo. Je bent dus meteen actief in het leven gedoken! Voor ons is het een beetje raar om met je mee te leven, want telkens als we aan je denken lig jij in bed en als wij in bed liggen doe jij leuke dingen. Ik heb nog moeite om me in de verschillende tijdzones in te leven.
    Je krijgt de hartelijke groeten van Eoin. Het was gisteren erg gezellig met hem in Texel. Dit lees je dus als wij al weer slapen. Geniet van alles.

    Kus, papa

  • 16 Oktober 2012 - 15:21

    Charlotte En Thomas:

    Supercool Timo!
    Haha ik zie je al helamaal geshocked in dat vliegtuig zitten.. ben wel benieuwd naar een paar foto's!

    Party on!
    xx Charlotte en Thomas

  • 16 Oktober 2012 - 16:04

    Irma En Fred:

    hoi timo fijn dat uiteindelijk alles is goed gekomen met je reis
    en slapen op de wallen wie had dit nou verwacht
    we lezen met je mee veel plezier
    fred en irma

  • 21 Oktober 2012 - 17:41

    Libelle K.:

    He Timo, fijn dat je goed bent aangekomen. Bijzonder moment in je leven. Ik wens je nogmaals hele mooie en fijne momenten toe daar aan de andere kant van de wereld. Ik kom af en toe nog wel eens terug op deze site!


  • 21 Oktober 2012 - 20:09

    Mirjam:

    hey lief neefje!
    wat fijn dat je de eerste indrukken goed zijn!
    ben nu al trots op je!!! ik ga je volgen!
    dikke kus

  • 24 Oktober 2012 - 19:18

    Amber:

    Hallo lieve Timo, je bent nu al een tijdje in Australia en ik wil nog een reisverslag! sit your ass down and write! heb je, je nieuwe fancy iPod al? x

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Timo

My name is Timo and I am 22 years old. I just finished my bachelors degree and thought I would start travelling for a while. This blog helps me to keep track of the most memorable things I experience during my travels. And to make sure that I will take all these memories back home.

Actief sinds 06 Okt. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 482
Totaal aantal bezoekers 48217

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Oktober 2012 - 06 April 2013

Australia and New Zealand

Landen bezocht: